Spring onion and Red Leicester scones with roasted garlic cream

I’m still working my way through that final truckle of Red Leicester. As I don’t really have much of a sweet tooth, these savoury scones are my cunning twist on the classic cream tea. I’ve already made a batch for @farmlondon and with not one but two tea parties coming up in the near future; these decadent little delights will most certainly be putting in an appearance.

There’s a fair amount of fromage in the mix so you only need a few teaspoons of oil. They swell up beautifully and the hint of truffle works a treat with the cheese, as does the suggestion of smoky pepper.  Split them while they’re still warm from the oven and recklessly smother with the roasted garlic cream and a generous blob of tomato relish. Wash down with a  large mug of lady grey. Splendid.

ingredients

  • 500g plain flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp thyme leaves
  • 250g red leicester (or any other decent hard cheese), grated
  • 2 spring onions, finely snipped
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • lots of black pepper
  • pinch of smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp truffle oil
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 250 ml whole milk
  • 1 egg

for the garlic cream

  • 250ml sour cream
  • 1 bulb garlic, sliced in half
  • a little oil
  • salt
  • a handful of chives

to serve – tomato relish or my personal favourite, some Branston’s pickle.

method

  • weigh out the flour and mix in the baking powder, salt, thyme, cayenne, paprika, spring onions, black pepper and grated cheese.
  • Combine the beaten egg, milk and oils in a jug and slowly trickle into the dry ingredients.
  • Mix well until a dough is formed. Roll out to about just over an inch thick (make sure you don’t roll too thinly).
  • If you want to create a natural “split” in the scone, fold the dough in half, back over itself and lightly roll out again.
  • Using a cutter (or an inverted glass) cut out round shapes.
  • Place on a well oiled baking tray and brush with milk. Sprinkle with a little more grated cheese.
  • Put your garlic halves on a scrap of foil, drizzle with the oil and sprinkle with the salt. Wrap up into a loose parcel.
  • Place the scones and the garlic parcel in the oven at 220C/450F/gas mark 8 for about 20 minutes or until the scones are well risen and golden and the garlic tender.
  • Put the scones on a rack to cool slightly.
  • Mash the roast garlic to a pulp, mix with the chives and stir into the cream.
  • Split and smother the scones.
  • Serve immediately.

14 comments

  1. What a great idea – never seen this combo of flavours before, and while I love a good cheese scone, have to say I never thought to make a savoury cream tea – genius.

    • gastrogeek

      thanks K – sounds crazy doesn’t it, but somehow it works. Nothing like a spot of baking to take your mind off things…(!) Will definitely bring a fresh batch to your tea party X

  2. i love all of these luscious ingredients- cheese, truffles, thyme, chilli- utterly delicious. it’s just the sort of snackette i need during tea time, dont have much of a sweet tooth (like you). would choose these scones over a cake anyway. x shayma

  3. Reading that recipe was pure seduction, they sound incredible.

  4. Me and my 4 yr old daughter make cheese scones as she prefers them to sweet ones. I have an apple and chilli chutney I made last October that i will try with these.

  5. gastrogeek

    your four year old sounds most discerning, I must say. I’m liking the sound of that chutney too, could be the perfect match

  6. Red Leicester is my absolute favourite; unfortunately, it’s not always easy to find in the US. These look delicious and I will search out some Red Leicester…got to be some somewhere in Colorado.

  7. gastrogeek

    Thanks Nazneen, I’m sure they’ll be fine if you substitute any other well flavoured hard cheese. I really like your blog by the way, Colorado sounds fab!

  8. BSG

    Oooh this sounds like a must-try. Just come back from a weekend in Ilkley where I paid my first ever visit to the legendary Betty’s Tea Room where I had, amongst other fantastic baked confections, fantastic, warm cheese scones.YUM!

    • gastrogeek

      thanks BSG – you great lucky, you! I’ve heard some pretty wonderous things about that tea room “sigh…”

  9. I have never seen anything cheese scone look so appetising….I am going to make this and with you kind permission post it in my blog too please…

    absolutely brilliant!

  10. Pingback: Cheese Scones and Simple Tomato Chutney « Roswensian

Leave a comment