Spicy Sausage Rolls at the Underground Market

Our “ruby murray” stall – photo by Kerstin Rogers

Flaky, delicate pastry with a spicy thwack of chillified filling, my spicy sausage rolls were a bit of a hit on Saturday and turned out to be just the thing for bonfire night.

I literally had no idea what to expect from Ms Marmite Lover’s underground market. I’d never been to one, let alone run a stall there, but her latest was a fantastic, gloriously surreal festival-like shebang. Although I didn’t actually get a chance to see everything, as we were too busy serving food, I met an almost endless stream of genuinely lovely people. I particularly enjoyed the spirit of camaraderie amongst the stallholders, and was really touched by some of the comments about our food.

Quantities had been a bit of a question mark. I had absolutely no idea how much to make, despite having spent the previous few days frantically exchanging emails with Helen from Food Stories and Kerstin trying to work this out. So I was super chuffed and much-surprised at our popularity – we managed to sell out of pretty much everything in the few hours we were open. I’ve always relished the idea of feeding people the food I love to eat at home, you know, the stuff you never really come across in restaurants. Seeing the delighted look on people’s faces after taking an initial bite was an incredible buzz, and some of the nicest feedback came from people who seemed gobsmacked that I didn’t sell my food regularly and demanded that I immediately rectify this.

Huge thanks to Kerstin for inviting us and organising such a terrific event.

INGREDIENTS

8 sausages, slit down the middle and liberated from their casings (I made half a batch with Quorn sausages and half with beef)

1 onion, peeled and roughly chopped

2-3 fresh green chillies

3 cloves garlic, peeled

1 inch ginger, peeled

1 tsp curry powder

1 tsp brown mustard seeds

2-3 tsp mustard oil

All butter puff pastry

1 egg, beaten

METHOD

  • Blitz the onion, ginger, garlic and chillies in a spice grinder/coffee mill
  • Heat the mustard oil and when it’s hot add the mustard seeds, which should sizzle immediately.
  • Introduce the onion mixture and fry until golden.
  • Once this has cooled, mix into the sausage meat, along with the curry powder and a pinch of salt.
  • Roll out the pastry and fill with the sausage meat. Seal and brush liberally with the beaten egg and bake for 25 minutes at 200C/gas mark 6 or until golden brown and cooked through.
10 comments

  1. Want this now!!! And its only 9am. They look gorgeous Rej & I’m sure they tasted amazing esp with the addition of mustard seeds & mustard oil. Hope the next time you have a stall I can make it x

  2. When I was little, my mum used to make Indian-spiced sausage rolls for the school fetes and bring and by events… they’d ask parents to contribute and man the food stalls. Lots of parents made sausage rolls but mums would often sell out first, they were essentially just regular sausage rolls, with her choice of spices mixed into the sausagemeat. I would definitely have bought one of yours had I been there, to take me on a trip down memory lane!
    Your stall looks fab!

  3. They look gorgeous- sad not to have been able to make it over – spent the day in what was essentially ‘school’. Next time, for sure- particularly if these are available.

  4. A question – Will the market be running over christmas / NY? I am coming back for a visit and interested to come along…

    Sharking

  5. Ooh these sound amazing. I missed them – I was upstairs selling jewellery in the lounge! I’ll have to make a batch of these.

    • gastrogeek

      Why thank you mrspao – so sorry I missed you, didn’t actually get the chance to see upstairs (which is a pretty good sign I suppose!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,403 other followers

