Stichelton Dressing

There’s only so much cauliflower cheese you can take before you start to feel a bit peaky. Awkward  bride that I was, I’d demanded one of those cakes made up of cheesy tiers for my big day. At the time I didn’t really register the pungent reality of being confronted with a Kilimanjaro of fromage every time I opened the glowing cupboard door. We’re talking mighty truckles of Yarg, Manchego, Red Leicester and Stichelton – very much my kind of challenge.

What with it being all summery at last, I made the Stichelton into a nice blue cheese dressing. Walnut oil was the perfect nutty foil. The red wine vinegar, citrus and Dijon added that all important acidity and the spring onions contributed a bit of bite. It definitely needed the garlic. Beautiful lashed over some juicy hunks of iceberg, strewn with walnuts, pumpkin seeds and sweet slices of apple.

Ingredients

  • 1-2 large cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar (or whatever you’ve got. Not malt though).
  • 2 tbsp walnut oil (avocado and olive are also v.good)
  • 5 fl oz (150 ml) soured cream
  • 2 oz (55g) Stichelton (or any other strong blue cheese)
  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 2 spring onions, finely chopped

Method

  • Crush the garlic with the salt and add the mustard, lemon juice and vinegar.
  • Beat in the oil.
  • Add cream and mayonnaise and spring onions.
  • Crumble in the cheese. You can blend it all up if you like a really smooth dressing, but I think it’s nice to have a few lumps.
  • Grind over some pepper and check the seasoning.

8 comments

  1. I’ve been looking into blue dressings dips recently for my hot wings, may have to steal some of your ideas (namely the dijon).

    Planning a wedding too and looking like I’ll be in the same cheese rpedicament as you.

  2. gastrogeek

    thanks J, I used the wholegrain Dijon but I’m sure any kind would be fine. Hot wings sound like a glorious match.

    Good luck with the wedding, and the cheese challenge- Chris Pople told me to stick it all in the freezer, but I’d much rather cook with it.

  3. Sounds like the perfect blue cheese dressing. Lovely!

  4. gastrogeek

    thanks Hanna – will definitely be turning to this again now it’s finally salad weather :-)

  5. Summer is here! This sounds awesome and then I’m not a blue cheese fan at all. Looking forward to seeing you at Farm Shop tomorrow, I’ll pop by around 4 or so. Hanna x

    • gastrogeek

      Hurray and about time too! Thanks Hanna -to be honest neither am I,but i find this way it’s more tangy than pongy. Looking forward to meeting you tomorrow X

  6. This is the only blue cheese dressing I have seen with a perfect balance of citrus, nutty & garlicky flavour which cuts through the richness of the cheese. Definitely must try! Been looking for a good blue cheese dressing recipe for ages now. Will go perfectly with grilled lamb chops & a squash salad I’m making soon.

  7. gastrogeek

    Thanks M! That’s a really lovely thing to say – I’d love to hear how you get on (PS that salad sounds utterly gorgeous)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,801 other followers

