Fire & Knives

I’ve written a piece about the “Coriander Club”, a Bengali women’s allotment group for Fire & Knives. This dashing food quarterly is the brilliant new offering from Tim Hayward. I’m furtively eyeing up my copy as I type this, and I have to say it’s a truly gorgeous publication.  Printed on thick, quality paper with eye-catching visuals, the whole thing is superbly put together and I’m incredibly excited to be featured in it. In fact, if it were somehow possible to batter, deep fry it and wolf it down, I probably would.

It’s a cracking read that manages to simultaneously showcase new talent and also exciting and unusual work from more established names. This inaugural issue features (amongst others) the work of Catherine Phipps, Tom Parker Bowles, Oliver Thring, Matthew Fort and Elizabeth David. If you haven’t subscribed I would strongly urge you to do so. Personally, I adore the fact that it’s anti-slick and pap-free, that there are no recipes, no “101 ways with mince” just fresh, nourishing high calibre writing.

Word.

13 comments

  1. Reji thanks for reminding me to subscribe.

    Only getting it coz you innit mind :-)

    • Aha – I have my subscription and the first edition is sitting on the side, as yet unread. Certainly looks like a quality publication. I had no idea you were in it. Nice one Rej.

  2. Congrats, Rej!
    You know I only put my money down when I knew you’d be featured! And I wasn’t disappointed. My issue came last week and I read your article first.
    It’s a fabulous first edition! Full of great content and physically gorgeous too!
    Well done, you!

  3. Sejal

    My copy of Fire & Knives arrived promptly this morning (even though I only ordered it online at the weekend)! I love it, it’s gorgeous. Your Coriander club feature is beautifully evocative. I have always wanted to meet the women ever since I read about them a few years back – and now I’m thinking I would love to sit down and eat a home-cooked lunch with them.

  4. well done, and heartfelt congrats, Rej. x shayma

  5. I am yet to purchase my subscription so I will do it now! I am very much looking forward to reading your article, and the others of course. I always cringe at those titles that includes the words, “ways with x”

  6. Hi Rejina,
    Just wanted to say, thanks for bringing this new publication to my attention. I’ve been out of the London food scene for awhile now (I’m living in Berlin), so I rely on people like you to keep me informed. What a blessing! I’ve only recently discovered your blog and am so glad for it. Also, thought I’d let you know that the contents page you’ve posted for Fire and Knives is a little too small/fuzzy for me to read from my laptop. Didn’t really matter to me- I subscribed immediately! But others might like to have a look at it before they decide to, I suppose.
    All the best, Angela

  7. Your piece in Fire and Knives was excellent, beautifully written and inspirational!

  8. Couldn’t agree more – Fire and Knives is gorgeous. I particularly enjoyed reading your piece in there, too.

  9. gastrogeek

    Sejal – I’m pleased you liked it (and I’m sure that could be arranged!)

    Shayma, Urban Foodie, aforkful – thank you!

    helen- they are off-putting aren’t they?

    Angela- thank you! I think the print might be deliberately small so that people are encouraged to buy the publication rather than just read it on my blog – hope you enjoy it, all the best Rejina

  10. Sounds like a fantastic read….though 100 ways to use mince would also be right up my alley

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 900 other followers

