Green Tea Noodle Pot

DSC04507

I came home feeling ravenous and more than a little dehydrated after a strenuous session at Bikram yoga. Bikram basically involves working out in sauna-like conditions for an hour and a half. I always go and I always wonder what on earth I’m doing there about half way through when I’m half-blinded with sweat and feel like I’m on the verge of passing out. And I realise that like an absolute sucker I’ve paid through the nose for the privilege of that special feeling.  Again. They say that Mr Bikram is loathed by traditional yogis and is seen as some some of snake oil peddlar of “ancient Indian wisdom combined with modern science” to gullible Westerners. That he is in fact a clever old charlatan who lives in LA and owns a stable of Rolls Royces, a mansion and a swimming pool. It’s difficult not to think about all this while gurning your way through the tree pose. That’s not what annoys me the most though. It’s the fact that Robert Downey Junior goes to my class. Robert Downey Bloody Junior. It’s just not right.

Anyway, on the way home I tried to recall what we have in the fridge – some duck stock that I’d been simmering away for a couple of days (on the lowest heat possible with some quartered onions, peppercorns and garlic) a leek, a couple of carrots, a tomato and some spinach.  I’ve had these noodles in the back of my cupboard for a while so decided to throw together a big bowl of noodle soup. It hit the spot in an intensely hot and sour kind of way and made me feel awash with health to boot. Sod you Mr Bikram, this was FREE!!  Mmmm!

DSC04503

ingredients

2 inch ginger, peeled and finely sliced

1 fat clove garlic

1 tsp very lazy red chilli

1 leek finely sliced

2 carrots sliced

1 tomato, quartered

A handful of spinach

1 tbsp nori or any other dried seaweed

1 pint of stock

2 tsp sesame oil

3 mushrooms, sliced

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp ketsap manis

2 tsp fish sauce

1 tbsp rice vinegar

Green tea soba noodles, cooked for 2 mins then drained

method

  • fry the leeks, ginger, chilli,onions and garlic in the sesame oil over a medium heat.
  • Add the mushrooms and carrot slices and continue to fry for about a minute.
  • Add the stock, the ketsap manis, the soy and the fish sauces. Add the rice vinegar.
  • Add the noodles, the spinach, the tomato and the seaweed.
  • Heat through until the seaweed has hydrated and serve adjusting the seasoning by adding more rice vinegar or soy sauce according to taste.
2 comments

  1. Noodle soup is the food of the gods. Hot and sour even more so.

    As for Mr RDJ, I used to be in love with him. Well, at least around the time of “Chances Are”.

  2. gastrogeek

    Hmmm, I’m personally not much of a fan. (I’m also quite clearly jealous of the fact that he is so much better at yoga than me). But yes, hot and sour is indeed the elixir of life! This is just my made up store cupboard version, I wish I could make the proper Chinese stuff or my personal fave Vietnamese Hot and Sour soup…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,804 other followers

